REFBC AGM Wrap-up: New Leadership, New Governor

winding road through trees

Belcarra. Credit: PictureBC.


The Real Estate Foundation of BC held its Annual General Meeting on March 31, 2016, which included an election for the Foundation’s Chair and Vice-chair positions, the introduction of a new governor and the approval of REFBC’s audited financial statements.

Anna Warwick Sears and Mandy Hansen to lead Foundation

three women
L-R: Anna Warwick Sears,
Kelly Lerigny, Mandy Hansen

We are pleased to share that Anna Warwick Sears has been elected Chair for 2016-17 and that Mandy Hansen has been elected as Vice-chair. Both Anna and Mandy will serve one-year terms.

Dr. Warwick Sears is a population biologist and the Executive Director of the Okanagan Basin Water Board. She lives in Kelowna and is one of three Minister of Finance appointees to the Foundation’s Board.

Mandy Hansen is the Principal of Insight Specialty Consulting, a project management and real estate strategy firm. She lives in Coquitlam and was appointed to the Board by the Real Estate Institute of BC.

The Foundation would like to recognize and thank Kelly Lerigny, 2015-16 Chair, for her six years of dedicated service to REFBC and the Board of Governors. Kelly is a strong champion for sustainable land use and, in her time on the Board, inspired those around her and provided thoughtful guidance to the Foundation’s circle of staff, governors and grantees. Kelly’s term at the Foundation ended on March 31st and we wish her all the best in her future adventures.

Welcome to Hanne Selby

photo of womanWe are happy to welcome Hanne Selby to REFBC’s Board of Governors. Hanne has been appointed by the BC Real Estate Association (BCREA), filling the vacancy created after Kelly’s retirement.

Hanne works as a real estate agent in Chilliwack and has served two terms on the BCREA Board. She has also served as president of the Chilliwack and District Real Estate Board and her local Kiwanis Club. When she isn’t selling real estate, Hanne enjoys mentoring new agents, volunteering in her community, cooking, sewing, reading and travelling with her family. She and her husband, a retired real estate agent, have two daughters and two young grandchildren.

Hanne is looking forward to learning more about land use in British Columbia and to working with the Foundation’s staff and governors to build a more sustainable future for our province.

REFBC’s current Board includes:

Anna Warwick Sears of Kelowna, Chair – appointed by the BC Minister of Finance, 2014

Mandy Hansen of Coquitlam, Vice-chair – appointed by the Real Estate Institute of BC, 2015

Jim Rempel of Abbotsford – appointed by the BC Minister of Finance, 2013

Bruce Turner of Courtenay – appointed by the Real Estate Council of BC, 2015

Robert Goertz of Nelson – appointed by the BC Minister of Finance, 2015

Ramona Faust of Procter – appointed by the Union of BC Municipalities, 2015

Hanne Selby of Chilliwack – appointed by the BC Real Estate Association, 2016