2012 Land Awards

The third Land Awards Gala was held on Friday, October 26, 2012 at the Four Seasons Hotel in downtown Vancouver. It was an uplifting evening, celebrating BC’s land champions.

The presentation of the Land Awards was the highlight of the night.

Watch videos of all the finalist projects, as well as the first winner of the BC Water Sustainability Endowment Fund Grant, on our YouTube channel.

View our Facebook album of 2012 Land Awards photos.

Selection Committees

We are thankful for the time, energy, and thoughtful adjudication of the volunteer selection committees. One external committee adjudicated the non-profit, private, and public sector awards. A committee of the three most recent past chairs of the Foundation adjudicated the Land Champion award.

The main judging committee comprised:

  • Patrick Condon
  • Janine de la Salle
  • Stephen Hall
  • Maureen LeBourdais
  • Anna Warwick Sears

The Land Champion committee comprised:

  • Barry Brown-John
  • Jack Hall
  • Stephen Mullock


The 2012 gala also featured a keynote address by Ed Begley, Jr., actor and environmentalist. Mr. Begley walks the "green" talk, often turning up at Hollywood events on his bicycle. In his talk, Ed encouraged each member of the audience to do what they could to care for the environment and make our world more sustainable.

After Party

After the awards, Australian band The Humm kept the dance floor full until midnight. Thanks to The Humm and everyone who was happy to celebrate until the wee hours!