2011 Land Awards

The second Land Awards Gala was held on November 3, 2011 at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver.

The Land Awards recognize initiatives that demonstrate leadership, innovation, and collaboration related to the sustainable use and conservation of land in British Columbia. The awards celebrate and honour the non-profit organizations, private companies, and government bodies behind the initiatives…and they highlight the dynamic, forward-thinking people who make it all happen—leaders in creating sustainable communities and making BC a great place to live.

Videos of all the finalist projects, as well as the first winner of the BC Water Sustainability Endowment Fund Grant, are now available on our YouTube channel.

Selection Committees

Sincere thanks go to the volunteer selection committees. One external committee adjudicated the non-profit, private, and public sector awards. A committee of the three most recent past chairs of the Foundation adjudicated the Land Champion award.

The main judging committee comprised:

  • John Curry
  • Erik Karlsen
  • Cheryl Kathler
  • Heather Tremain
  • Bryn White

The Land Champion committee comprised:

  • Barry Brown-John
  • Jack Hall
  • Charlie Northrup


In addition to the Land Awards presentations, the gala evening featured a keynote address by William McDonough, internationally renowned architect, environmentalist, and co-author of Cradle to Cradle.

After Party

In addition to an evening of celebration and inspiration with the awards presentations and keynote, this year’s event featured an after party at the Hotel Vancouver’s Rooftop Lounge with James Intveld and his band.